Environment and Sustainability Task Force Meeting Minutes

The Environment and Sustainability Task Force meetings are recorded. Agenda materials and recordings may be reviewed/copied by contacting the Board Coordinator at 214-671-1200

Meeting Date:	February 12, 2021
Convened:	1:03 p.m.
Adjourned:	3:01 p.m.

Task Force Members Present:

Sandy Greyson, **Chair** Rita Beving, **Vice-Chair** Dr. Maria Boccalandro Aaryaman Singhal Tracy Wallace Janette Monear Michael Martin Tony Robinson Alan Hoffmann Phil Crone Raphaella Silva Drew Campbell

Task Force Member(s) Absent:

Erryn Hopson Ples Montgomery, IV Pamela Rogers

Staff Present:

Susan Alvarez, OEQS, Task Force Staff Liaison Pharr Andrews, OEQS Katy Evans, OEQS Brittany Hailey-Wells, OEQS Tammy Palomino, CAO Srinivas Vemuri, BSD

AGENDA:

1. Call to Order

Action Taken/Recommendation(s):

Chair called the Environment and Sustainability Task Force meeting to order at 1:03 p.m., Friday, February 12, 2021 at Dallas City Hall, via TEAMS Virtual Meeting Service, Dallas, TX, 75201. A quorum was present.

2. Public Comments

Downwinders at Risk, Friendship West Church, and Dallas Urban League submitted a joint video, which was played for the task force.

Sandy Greyson then read the written public comments aloud. Due to time constraints, some comments were not read but are still a part of the public record.

3. Approval of Meeting Record of December 11, 2020 and January 15, 2021 Meetings

Motion to approve the minutes of December 11, 2020 meeting

Motion by: Michael Martin Motion seconded by: Maria Boccalandro

Motion to approve the minutes of January 15, 2021 meetingMotion by: Aaryaman Singhal*Motion seconded by: Alan Hoffman

*The January 15, 2021 minutes are approved with the following edit to Aaryaman's comments in section 6:

He commented on the need for partnerships with <mark>various City departments, boards, and commissions community organizations through meetings, working sessions, and or liaisons to help facilitate discussions and community input coordination.</mark>

4. Discussion and Voting on Formation of an Environmental Commission

Sandy opened with a discussion on whether to recommend creating a separate Environmental Health Commission. The task force requires additional information from the City Attorney's Office before making an informed decision.

The task force voted on number of members--

- 15-member mix of the general public and technical experts, all voting members: In favor- Tony Robinson, Maria Boccalandro
- 15 voting members from the general public and 8 voting technical experts: In favor- none
- 15 voting members from the general public and 8 non-voting technical experts: In favor- Tracy Wallace, Rita Beving, Jeanette Monear, Alan Hoffman, Michael Martin, Aaryaman Singhal, Sandy Greyson, Drew Campbell

The majority voted for 15 voting members from the general public and 8 non-voting technical experts who do not have to reside in Dallas.

The task force voted on qualifications for voting members-

Per the survey, the majority is in favor of members from the general public having some background or experience in environmental issues.

- Aaryaman suggested language be added to specify a voting public health expert.
- Dr. Boccalandro advised, for the record, that some technical experts should have voting power because of the technical nature of decisions being made by the EC.

The task force voted to have the eight technical experts represent each of the eight CECAP areas.

The task force voted to address both CECAP implementation and other environmental issues, with an emphasis on public health.

The task force voted on meeting frequency—

- Once a month: In favor: Drew Campbell
- Twice a month:

In favor: Tracy Wallace, Maria Boccalandro, Janette Monear, Alan Hoffmann, Michael Martin, Aaryaman Singhal, Sandy Greyson, Rita Beving

The task force will recommend twice monthly meetings.

The task force voted for the EC to provide opportunities for public input, both written and in person. In response to a public comment about the Dallas Climate Action website, Tracy Wallace requested to go on record voicing support for OEQS' ability to maintain the website and continue to distribute information and resources to Dallas residents through the website. The commission will decide how to accept public comment.

Councilmember Omar Narvaez would like all recommendations presented to the ENVS in March. The task force will discuss at a special-called meeting:

- Specific qualifications for the general public
- Liaisons

Dates will be sent to the task force for a special-called meeting.

5. Discussion on Task Force Subcommittees

Time did not permit discussion of this agenda item.

6. <u>Review of FY 2021 Proposed Work Plan by CECAP Section</u>

Time did not permit discussion of this agenda item.

7. Meeting Wrap-Up

Motion to adjourn meeting.

Motion by: Alan HoffmanMotion seconded by: Janette Monear

Passed by majority.

The February 12, 2021 Environment and Sustainability Task Force Meeting adjourned at 3:01 p.m.

APPROVED BY:

ATTEST:

Sandy Greyson

Chair Environment & Sustainability Task Force

Juse Share

Task Force Staff Liaison Environment & Sustainability Task Force